2022 Stroke Program in Neurorecovery (SPiN) Online Workshop – REGISTER NOW

Registration for CPSR’s Stroke Program in Neurorecovery (SPiN) Workshop is now open!The SPiN workshop brings together young researchers from across the world to learn from expert faculty about basic science and clinical stroke research. This three-day workshop is targeted for trainees (e.g., graduate students and post-doctoral fellows) and will be an excellent opportunity to network with other trainees and faculty in the field from within and outside of Canada.

All trainees are welcome to apply!

Workshop Dates: July 19-21, 2022
Location: Virtual via Zoom
Registration Deadline: Friday July 15, 2022
Registration Link:


  • Learn about the latest techniques and technologies in stroke recovery research via interactive workshops (where possible)
  • Learn about translational approaches in stroke recovery research, from basic science and clinical research perspectives
  • Learn about the latest stroke rehabilitation therapies used with patients
  • Network with your peers and get to know other research labs
  • Interact closely with internationally-recognized scientists


Participating Research Labs (click on link for program agenda: SPIN WORKSHOP AGENDA).
Isabelle Aubert, Sunnybrook Research Institute, Toronto, ON, Canada
Matilde Balbi, Queensland Brain Institute, Queensland, Australia
Joyce Chen, University of Toronto, Toronto, ON, Canada
Mindy Levin, McGill University, Montreal, QC, Canada
Courtney Pollock, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC, Canada
Brodie Sakakibara, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC, Canada
Ada Tang, McMaster University, Hamilton, ON, Canada

Other activities include:
– listening to personal experiences from stroke survivors and having the opportunity to ask questions
– hearing and interacting with expert scientists: Drs. McLaurin, Stefanovic, Winston, Black & Goubran.
– expanding your research network and meeting fellow trainees in small groups
– presenting your research studies to fellow trainees and getting feedback


$150 CDN plus applicable taxes

If you have any questions, please contact Farrell Leibovitch, Director, Research & Training, CPSR at

On behalf of 2022 CPSR National Trainee Association Executive Committee

Contact InformationPlease email us at
Visit us at: National Trainee Association Executive Committee for 2022
Jasmine Aziz, BSc, PhD candidate, Dalhousie University (Co-Chair)
Urvashy (Sandhya) Gopaul, Post-Doctoral Fellow, University of Toronto, (Co-Chair)
Michelle Legasto, PhD candidate, University of Toronto (Co-Chair)
Farrell Leibovitch, MSc, Director of Research and Training Programs, CPSR
Anjana Rajendran, MSc candidate, University of British Columbia (Co-Chair)

CPSR NTA Executive Committee Advisors for 2022
Lydia Kuhl, BSc, MSc candidate, University of Calgary (Former Co-Chair)
Zanna Vanterpool, MSc, PhD candidate, University of Ottawa (Former Co-Chair)