More than 405,000 Canadians live with long-term stroke disability and the number will double in 20 years. (*) A significant number of those get progressively worse with time. 

stroke affects communities

Stroke affects some communities harder than others:

  • Women have more severe strokes than men -- with flashpoints around childbirth and menopause. They are more likely to be institutionalized than men. And, more likely to be caregivers to family members with stroke.
     
  • Indigenous peoples have much less access to rehabilitation and are more likely to live with severe long-term disability and poor quality of life after stroke. They need access to tele-rehabilitation and for training for local caregivers to assist with their recovery.
     
  • Children have limited access to vital new therapies and services. There are more than 10,000 children in Canada living with the effects of stroke – strokes may occur in utero, at birth, during infancy, and adolescence. They need access to clinical trials, new technologies, stroke camps, and support services. 

It's a stark reality: Indigenous people in Canada have a higher likelihood of developing stroke, yet face massive barriers... Health systems are failing them. Access to the treatment and recovery is a major issue in many Indigenous communities. This has to change.
 

Heart & Stroke Canada

Stroke disability by the numbers (*):

 

  • According to a 2015 report on the Prevalence of long-term disability from stroke, commissioned by the CPSR and published in the journal Stroke, the prevalence of stroke survivors living with disability will as much as double in some regions of Canada by 2038.
     
  • The largest increase is projected for the Prairie provinces (AB, SK, MB), where it is estimated there will be between 116,000 and 132,000 stroke survivors living with disability in 2038. This represents an expected increase from 2013 that ranges between 100% and 128%.
     
  • Stroke disability rates are expected to increase between 65% and 71% in the Atlantic provinces (PEI, NS, NB, NL), between 49% and 54% in Quebec, between 68% and 74% in Ontario, and between 87% and 111% in British Columbia.
Stroke numbers

The impact on caregivers:

Roughly 52.1% or caregivers spend more than 8 hours a day providing caregiving support to the stroke survivor (Yu et al., 2013). In an observational study, Yu et al. (2013) found that 72.7% of caregivers were women and many suffered from hypertension (70.4%), heart disease (33.3%), bone and joint disease (16%), and diabetes (12.3%).  www.EBRSR.com Chapter 19, pg. 39

Plus de 405 000 Canadiens vivent avec une incapacité à long terme due à un AVC et ce nombre doublera d'ici 20 ans. (*) Un nombre important d'entre eux verront leur handicap empirer progressivement au fil du temps.

stroke affects communities

L'AVC touche certaines communautés plus durement que d'autres:

  • Les femmes subissent des AVC plus graves que les hommes - avec des pics centrés sur l'accouchement et la ménopause. Elles sont plus susceptibles d'être institutionnalisées que les hommes et, d’autre part, d'être les aidantes naturelles de leurs proches qui sont victimes d'un AVC.
     
  • Les peuples autochtones ont beaucoup moins accès à des soins de réadaptation. Ils sont plus susceptibles de vivre avec de graves incapacités à long terme et avoir une piètre qualité de vie après un AVC. Ils ont besoin d'avoir accès à la téléréadaptation et à la formation d'aidants locaux pour soutenir leur rétablissement.
     
  • L'accès qu'ont les enfants aux nouvelles thérapies et aux nouveaux services vitaux demeure limité. Il y a plus de 10 000 enfants au Canada qui sont aux prises avec les séquelles d'un AVC. Les AVC peuvent survenir in utero, à la naissance, pendant la petite enfance et à l'adolescence. Les enfants ont besoin d'avoir accès aux essais cliniques, aux nouvelles technologies, aux camps pour enfants avec AVC et aux services de soutien.. 

La dure réalité est que les Autochtones du Canada sont plus à risque d'avoir un AVC et également de faire face à d'énormes obstacles. Les systèmes de santé les laissent tomber. L'accès aux soins et le rétablissement sont des enjeux majeurs dans de nombreuses communautés autochtones. Il faut que ça change.
 

Cœur + AVC Canada

Les handicaps en raison de l’AVC en quelques chiffres:

 

  • La prévalence des survivants d'un AVC vivant avec une incapacité pourrait jusqu'à doubler dans certaines régions du Canada d'ici 2038.
     
  • L'augmentation la plus importante est prévue dans les provinces des Prairies (AB, SK, MB), où l'on estime qu'il y aura entre 116 000 et 132 000 survivants d'un AVC vivant avec une incapacité en 2038. Il s'agit d'une augmentation par rapport à 2013 qui se situe entre 100 % et 128 %.
     
  • On s'attend à ce que les taux d'incapacité à la suite d'un AVC augmentent de 65 % à 71 % dans les provinces de l'Atlantique (Île-du-Prince-Édouard, Nouvelle-Écosse, Nouveau-Brunswick, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador), de 49 % à 54 % au Québec, de 68 % à 74 % en Ontario et de 87 % à 111 % en Colombie-Britannique.
Stroke numbers

Les conséquences pour les aidants naturels:

Environ 52,1 % des aidants naturels consacrent plus de 8 heures par jour à fournir un soutien aux survivants de l'AVC (Yu et al., 2013). Dans une étude par observation, Yu et ses collaborateurs ont constaté que 72,7 % des soignants étaient des femmes et que beaucoup souffraient d'hypertension (70,4 %), de maladies cardiaques (33,3 %), de maladies des os et des articulations (16 %) et de diabète (12,3 %). www.EBRSR.com chap. 19, p. 39